Protect Our Kids Commission Meeting - October 24, 2014

The first meeting of the Protect Our Kids Commission is set for October 24, 2014 beginning at 10:00 am. The meeting will be in the Capitol Conference Room located in room E2.002A at the Texas State Capitol. Pursuant to Senate Bill 66 of the 83rd Regular Legislative Session, the commission studies and provides recommendations to the Legislature regarding best practices and evidence-based strategies to address and reduce child abuse and neglect fatalities.

For more information, contact: Tina Amberboy at (512) 463-9352 or <u>Tina.Amberboy@txcourts.gov</u>.

MEETING AGENDA

- 10:00 Opening Remarks / Introductions Judge Robin Sage, Chair
- 10:45 Discussion of Senate Bill 66 and Charge to POK Commission
- 11:00 Presentation from Department of Family and Protective Services
- 11:30 Presentation from Department of State Health Services
- 12:00 Lunch
- 12:15 Presentation from State Child Fatality Review Team
- 12:45 Texas Children's Justice Act
- 1:15 Group Discussion / Public Comment
- 1:45 Assignments / Next Steps

Commission Members

GOVERNOR PERRY APPOINTEES

The Honorable Robin D. Sage, Presiding Officer Supreme Court of Texas Judicial Commission for Children, Youth & Families Longview

Eric A. Higginbotham, M.D. Dell Children's Hospital Austin

Marian Sokol, Ph.D. Children's Bereavement Center of South Texas San Antonio Ms. Carmen Symes Dusek Symes Dusek, LLC San Angelo

Ms. Leticia E. Martinez Tarrant County District Attorney's Office Fort Worth

Ms. Luanne Southern Casey Family Programs Austin

LT. GOVERNOR DEWHURST APPOINTEES

Ms. Madeline DuHaime McClure TexProtects

The Honorable Peter Sakai 225th Judicial District Court San Antonio

Angelo Giardino, MD Texas Children's Hospital Houston

SPEAKER JOE STRAUS APPOINTEES

Nancy Kellogg, MD UT Health Science Center San Antonio

The Honorable F. Scott McCown Children's Rights Clinic Austin

Ms. Julie Evans Alliance for Children Fort Worth

DFPS COMMISSIONER SPECIA APPOINTEES

Lisa Black Child Protective Services Assistant Commissioner Austin

DSHS COMMISSIONER LAKEY APPOINTEES

Dr. Jamye Lynn Coffman Cook Children's Hospital