Protect Our Kids Commission Meeting - January 16, 2015

The Protect Our Kids Commission will meet on Friday, January 16, 2015, beginning at 10:00 am. Pursuant to Senate Bill 66 of the 83rd Regular Legislative Session, the commission studies and provides recommendations to the Legislature regarding best practices and evidence-based strategies to address and reduce child abuse and neglect fatalities.

Protect Our Kids Commission Meeting Friday, January 16, 2015 10:00 a.m. to 2:00 p.m.

Texas Hospital Association (THA) 1108 Lavaca Street, Suite 700 (7th floor) Austin, Texas 78701

Phone: 512-465-1000

For additional parking information, please click on links below.

THA Parking information

Over-Flow Parking Moody Bank

January 16, 2015 10:00 am - 2:00 pm

Texas Hospital Association 1108 Lavaca Street Austin, Texas 78701

MEETING AGENDA

10:00 a.m. **Opening Remarks**

> Judge Robin Sage, Chair **Commissioner Reports**

10:25 a.m. Brief Review of the Charge to POK Commission

10:30 a.m. Jane Burstain, Ph.D., Senior Policy Analyst Department of Family and Protective Services

11:00 a.m. Tammy Sajak, M.P.H, Director Title V and Family Health

Department of State Health Services

11:15 a.m. Madeline McClure, J.D., Executive Director

TexProtects

11:30 p.m. Commissioner Feedback

Nancy Kellogg, M.D., Marian Sokol, Ph.D., Eric Higginbotham, M.D.

12:00 p.m. Lunch

12:15 p.m. Commissioner Discussion

1:45 p.m. Public Comment

Next Steps

For more information, contact: Tina Amberboy at (512) 463-9352 or Tina.Amberboy@txcourts.gov.

Commission Members

GOVERNOR PERRY APPOINTEES

The Honorable Robin D. Sage, Presiding Officer Supreme Court of Texas Judicial Commission for Children, Youth & Families Longview

Eric A. Higginbotham, M.D. Dell Children's Hospital Austin

Marian Sokol, Ph.D. Children's Bereavement Center of South Texas San Antonio

Ms. Carmen Symes Dusek Symes Dusek, LLC San Angelo

Ms. Leticia E. Martinez Tarrant County District Attorney's Office Fort Worth

Ms. Luanne Southern Casey Family Programs Austin

LT. GOVERNOR DEWHURST APPOINTEES

Ms. Madeline DuHaime McClure TexProtects

The Honorable Peter Sakai 225th Judicial District Court San Antonio

Angelo Giardino, MD Texas Children's Hospital Houston

SPEAKER JOE STRAUS APPOINTEES

Nancy Kellogg, MD UT Health Science Center San Antonio

The Honorable F. Scott McCown Children's Rights Clinic Austin

Ms. Julie Evans Alliance for Children Fort Worth

DFPS COMMISSIONER SPECIA APPOINTEES

Lisa Black Child Protective Services Assistant Commissioner Austin

DSHS COMMISSIONER LAKEY APPOINTEES

Dr. Jamye Lynn Coffman Cook Children's Hospital